Public Document Pack



Supplement for COUNCIL - WEDNESDAY 24 MAY 2023

Included within this supplement pack are Annexes A (Political Proportionalities) and B (Committee Nominees) for Item Number 11.

Also included are the nominees for sub-committees (to be appointed by the 'parent' Committees after the meeting of Annual Council).



Annex A: Political proportionalities on committees 2023-24

Seats on committees are allocated based on the principles set out in the Local Government and Housing At 1989 (Section 15). The allocation of seats to political groups has been reviewed based on the political composition of the Council following elections held on 4 May 2023:

Liberal Democrat: 18 Conservative: 17 Labour 10 Green: 3

Independent (non-grouped): I

Table A: Initial seat allocations

Committee	Seats	Lib Dem	Con	Labour	Green	Total	Balance
Audit and	17	6	6	3	I	16	-1
Governance							
Development	24	9	8	5	I	23	-1
Control							
Licensing	11	4	4	2	I		0
Committee							
Climate and	15	6	5	3	I	15	0
Environment							
Overview and							
Scrutiny Committee							
Economic and Social	15	6	5	3	I	15	0
Overview and							
Scrutiny Committee							
Finance and	15	6	5	3	I	15	0
Management							
Overview and							
Scrutiny Committee							
Performance and	5	2	2	I	0	5	0
Appointments							
Committee							
Total seats allocated	102	39 (37)	35 (35)	20 (21)	6 (6)	100	0
(entitlement)							

Steps to allocate remaining seats:

- I. Labour Group has an overall under-allocation of one seat and gains an additional seat on Audit and Governance, which has an under-allocation of one seat and to which Labour Group has a minority proportional entitlement (0.47) (Labour Group has no proportional entitlement to an additional seat on Development Control, having been allocated 5 seats against a proportional entitlement of 4.90 seats).
- 2. Lib Dem Group has an over-allocation of two seats and is requested to offer up two seats for re-allocation (Economic and Social Overview and Scrutiny Committee & Audit and Governance).

3. All groups now have their full proportional entitlement of seats. The non-grouped Independent Member is offered the three remaining unallocated seats (Development Control, Economic and Social Overview and Scrutiny Committee and Audit and Governance Committee).

Table B: Final seat allocation after adjustments

Committee	Seats	Lib Dem	Con	Labour	Green	Ind	Total	Balance
Audit and Governance	17	5	6	4	I	I	17	0
Development Control	24	9	8	5	I	I	24	0
Licensing Committee	П	4	4	2	I	0	П	0
Climate and Environment Overview and Scrutiny Committee	15	6	5	3	I	0	15	0
Economic and Social Overview and Scrutiny Committee	15	5	5	3	I	I	15	0
Finance and Management Overview and Scrutiny Committee	15	6	5	3	I	0	15	0
Performance and Appointments Committee	5	2	2	I	0	0	5	0
Rounded entitlement Real entitlement Percentage of seats	102	37 37 37.47	35 35 35.39	21 21 20.82	6 6.24	3 N/A N/A	100	0
allocated		(36.27)	(34.3)	(20.6)	(5.9)	(2.94)	100	

Annex B: Committee Nominations 2023/24

Committee (No. of seats)	Liberal Democrat Group	Conservative Group	Labour Group	Green Group	Independent (Non- Grouped)
Audit and Governance (17)	Nathew Parkinson Elizabeth Poskitt David Jackson David Melvin Alaric Smith	Alex Wilson Jane Doughty Andrew Beaney Edward James Michele Mead Colin Dingwall	Ruth Smith Geoff Saul Joy Aitman Rachel Crouch	I. Andrew Prosser	I. Harry St. John
Climate and Environment Overview and Scrutiny (15)	I. Andy Goodwin 2. Natalie King 3. Hugo Ashton 4. Tim Sumner 5. Phil Godfrey 6. Alistair Wray	Colin Dingwall Alaa Al-Yousuf Martin McBride David Cooper Adrian Walsh	I. Andrew Coles 2. Mark Walker 3. Ruth Smith	I. Rosie Pearson	
Development Control (24)	1. Julian Cooper 2. Andy Goodwin 3. David Jackson 4. Charlie Maynard 5. Hugo Ashton 6. Phil Godfrey 7. Lidia Arciszewska 8. Alistair Wray 9. Tim Sumner	I. Colin Dingwall 2. Adrian Walsh 3. Nick Leverton 4. Lysette Nicholls 5. Andrew Beaney 6. Alaa Al-Yousuf 7. Dean Temple 8. Jeff Haine	Nichael Brooker Andrew Lyon Rachel Crouch Rizvana Poole Mark Walker	I. Andrew Prosser	I. Harry St. John
Economic and Social Overview and Scrutiny (15)	 Natalie King Charlie Maynard Phil Godfrey Liz Leffman Julian Cooper Alistair Wray 	Thomas Ashby Nick Leverton Liam Walker Alex Wilson Andrew Beaney	I. Rizvana Poole 2. Rachel Crouch 3. Andrew Lyon	I. Sandra Simpson	I. Harry St. John
Finance and Management Overview and Scrutiny (15)	Charlie Maynard Julian Cooper Hugo Ashton David Melvin	 Alaa Al-Yousuf Mark Johnson Jane Doughty Michele Mead 	I. Ruth Smith 2. Michael Brooker 3. Andrew Lyon	I. Rosie Pearson	

	5. Phil Godfrey 6. Elizabeth Poskitt	5. Alex Wilson			
Licensing (11)	 David Jackson Mathew Parkinson David Melvin Tim Sumner 	 Lysette Nichols Edward James Jeff Haine Jane Doughty 	I. Mark Walker 2. Andrew Lyon	I. Sandra Simpson	
Performance and Appointments (5)	I. Andy Graham 2. Dan Levy	I. Michele Mead 2. Liam Walker	I. Duncan Enright		

Other Bodies for Appointment by Council

Future Oxfordshire	I. Julian Cooper	I.David Cooper	I. Michael Brooker		
Partnership Scrutiny					
Panel (3)					
Oxfordshire Joint			I. Joy Aitman		
Health Overview and					
Scrutiny Committee					
(1)					
Constitution Working	I. Mathew Parkinson	I. Michele Mead	I. Joy Aitman	1.Rosie Pearson	
Group (6)	2. Andy Goodwin	2. Dean Temple			

Annex B: Development Control Sub-Committees (Lowlands & Uplands Areas) Nominations 2023/24

Committee (No. of	Liberal Democrat	Conservative Group	Labour Group	Green Group	Independent (Non-
seats)	Group				Grouped)
Lowlands Area	I. Andy Goodwin	I. Colin Dingwall	I. Michael Brooker	I. Andrew Prosser	I.Harry St. John
Planning Sub-	2. Charlie Maynard	2. Adrian Walsh	2. Rachel Crouch		
Committee (14)	3. Alistair Wray	3. Nick Leverton	3. Andrew Lyon		
	4. Julian Cooper	4. Lysette Nicholls			
	5. Phil Godfrey				
Uplands Area Planning	I. David Jackson	I. Alaa Al-Yousuf	I. Rizvana Poole		
Sub-Committee (11)	2. Julian Cooper	2. Dean Temple	2. Mark Walker		
	3. Hugo Ashton	3. Jeff Haine			
	4. Lidia Arciszewska	4. Andrew Beaney			
	5. Tim Sumner				

This page is intentionally left blank

Annex B: Licensing Panel (Licensing) Nominations 2023/24

Committee (No. of seats)	Liberal Democrat Group	Conservative Group	Labour Group	Green Group	Independent (Non- Grouped)
Licensing (5)	David Jackson Anathew Parkinson	Ed James Jeff Haine	I. Andrew Lyon		

This page is intentionally left blank

Annex B: Standards Sub-Committee (Audit & Governance) Nominations 2023/24

Committee (No. of seats)	Liberal Democrat Group	Conservative Group	Labour Group	Green Group	Independent (Non- Grouped)
Standards Sub- Committee (5)	Elizabeth Poskitt David Jackson	Andrew Beaney Michele Mead	I. Joy Aitman		

This page is intentionally left blank